Up and Coming

So much has been going on that I’ve neglected my blog (and my readers) shamelessly. Well, that ends today…and we’ll hope that I can do better in the future. But, for right now, let me bring you up to date:

montana-wheat

Green waves of grain in Montana’s  “Big Sky” country

montana-dam

The Rainbow Dam over the Missouri River in Great Falls, Montana

● My son graduated from Saint Mary’s College in Moraga, CA and now has a job with AmeriCorps in Great Falls, Montana. So, at the end of July, Mercy, Sadie (my faithful Subaru), and I took a road trip to deliver Micah to his new home for the next year. More on this trip later, but just so you know, Montana is a bee-uuu-fi-ful place!

● Spent some time in Tahoe at my friend’s cabin. (She drove back from Montana with me so I could do it in one fell swoop instead of several days!) Mercy accidentally-on-purpose went swimming in Castle Creek. (She has more about that trip on her blog.)

● In August, I met family on Oak Island, North Carolina for our annual beach trip. I had lots of fun—especially with my too cute and too fun grand-nephew in charge—he’s two and a half! I even got to take the ferry for a quick visit to Bald Head Island. Back in Wilson, NC, I got to visit my first whirlygig park. It’s not quite finished, but it’s already amazing!

whirlygiga  whirlygigb  whirlygigc

● Right now, I’m finishing up my plans for a trip to Flint, Michigan to visit three elementary schools there and talk with them about my Michigan Lighthouse Adventures. It’s my first school visit this year and I’m very excited!
 

Whew! It’s been a busy summer!

point-bonita-lighthouse_54_990x660_201404241344

The lighthouse at Point Bonita, California seems totally ready for a mystery!


My visit to Flint is also the first visit that I’m doing for A&M’s Muffin Project where we give all the third graders that I visit this school year a copy of The Clue at Copper Harbor! Oh, and I forgot to tell you that I’ve started my California Lighthouse Adventures with a new goal of making all three books available just months apart (instead of years)! I think the second book in the California series is going to be The Mystery at Point Bonita. (I’ll keep you posted on my progress.)

So that’s what has been happening with me. Whew! It’s been a busy summer! So how are you doing? I hope you are having a great “Back-to-School” season. Work hard and learn lots, but remember to take time to read!

Happy Fall!
mct110714

 

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in A&M Muffin Project, Bald Head Island, Books, California, Flint, Lighthouses, M.C. Tillson, Mercy, Michigan, Muffin Project, North Carolina, Travels, Uncategorized, Upper Peninsula

Leave a Reply

Follow M. C. Tillson on WordPress.com
Miss Any of These?
